College Board

Cape Naturaliste College

CNC Board

The role of the College Board is to help provide the College with strategic direction and contribute to good school governance, helping ensure that resources are used efficiently and that the community’s expectations and the College’s priorities best reflect the needs of students.


The functioning of the Board is covered by legislation and includes both approval and advisory roles. The Board makes decisions with the Principal, who ensures the decisions adhere to Legislative and Policy requirements. The Principal also seeks the advice of the Board to understand local community views. In light of this, we (the Board) endeavour to have members of the College, community, tertiary education facilities and local businesses represented on the Board, calling for nominations every 3 years.

The Board does not intervene in the control or management of the College, and all activities in both inside and outside reflect individual’s privacy and adherence to the College Code of Conduct.


The community is currently represented by Christine Kershaw (Chair, business owner, tertiary trainer), Lyn Farrell (Dean ECU), Michael Brown (business owner, President Busselton Chamber of Commerce & Industry, TAFE lecturer).


Past Community members include, Robert Irvine (OAM, retired Dean ECU), Michael Archer (CEO, City of Busselton), Wendy Washbourne (Campus Manager, SWIT Busselton), Duncan Anderson (SWIT), Liz Jones (past parent, Founding Member, Deputy Principal- West Busselton Primary School), Brent Ziersch, (past parent, retired Industry Consultant , past Chair Vasse Primary School Board.